OAK LAWN, IL – State Rep. Kelly Burke, D-Evergreen Park, is encouraging the local community to show appreciation for gifted educators by nominating teachers and other school personnel for the Illinois State Board of Education’s 2024 ‘Those who Excel and Teacher of the Year’ awards.

“I’m sure I’m not the only person who can think back to my school days and remember instances in which teachers made a powerful impact fostering my curiosity about the world. The Illinois State Board of Education is currently open to submissions for their 2023 ‘Those Who Excel and Teacher of the Year’ awards to show appreciation for contributions like that,” Burke said. “I encourage everyone in my community who has benefited from the work and compassion of a gifted educator to nominate someone.”

ISBE opens applications for the ‘Those Who Excel and Teacher of the Year’ awards every year to distinguish the incredible work of educators and support staff. Nominees are eligible if they fall under one of the following categories:

  • Teachers
  • Early career educators
  • Administrators
  • Student support personnel
  • Educational service personnel
  • Community volunteers and teams.

Anyone can nominate an outstanding educator for these awards, but those nominated must complete an application for consideration. Applications for these awards are due Oct. 15.  More information on the application process is available here.

“While my work supporting schools as a lawmaker is far from over, in my roles as a parent and active member of our community, I am also interested in ensuring that these people get the recognition they deserve,” Burke said. “For decades, Illinois’ great schools, staffed by committed educators, have helped foster learning in generations of kids, and they deserve this.”

Rep. Kelly BurkeRep. Kelly Burke

Assistant Majority Leader
(D-Evergreen Park)
36th District

Springfield Office:
632 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0515

District Office:
5144 W. 95th St.
Oak Lawn, IL  60453
(708) 425-0571
(708) 425-0642 FAX