SPRINGFIELD, Ill. – State Rep. Anne Stava-Murray, D-Downers Grove, passed legislation banning assault-style weapons, high-capacity magazines, and rapid-fire firearm modifications statewide Thursday, shortly after joining activists and advocates from across the state who had gathered to encourage lawmakers to pass the bill.

“Assault weapons are a plague and they don’t belong on our streets or around our homes,” Stava-Murray said. “Frankly, this bill was overdue. Banning weapons of war will make our communities and our families safer, and I am proud to have supported this commonsense measure.”

The rally was made up of activists from organizations—including Moms Demand Action, Purpose Over Pain, Everytown for Gun Safety, Students Demand Action, People for a Safer Society, March Fourth, Chicago Survivors, Illinois Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Parents for Peace and Justice, Illinois Alliance to Prevent Gun Violence and March for Our Lives—who gathered in the Capitol rotunda to urge lawmakers to pass the bill.

Translating citizen activism into legislative action, Stava-Murray voted to pass the Protect Illinois Communities Act, which will ban new sales of assault rifles in Illinois, ban the sale of ammunition clips containing more than 12 bullets, and ban modifications that make semi-automatic weapons operate like fully automatic machine guns. Additionally, the bill establishes an Illinois State Police anti-trafficking unit to combat the flood of illegal guns from out of state.

“Ultimately, this is about saving lives,” Stava-Murray said. “We especially wanted to save the lives of children, who are now having to grow up in a world where they conduct active shooter drills in kindergarten and among whom guns are the leading cause of death. This reality is obscene. It is unacceptable, and that is why we chose tonight not to continue accepting it. That’s what this bill is about.”

Stava-Murray is reachable at 630-605-0595 or office@repstavamurray.com.

Rep. Anne Stava-MurrayRep. Anne Stava-Murray

81st District

Springfield Office:
200-3S Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-6578

District Office:
633 Rogers Street
Suite 110
Downers Grove, IL 60515
(630) 605-0595