DES PLAINES, Ill. – Legislative measures supported by state Rep. Marty Moylan, D-Des Plaines, to make voting safer and easier were recently signed into law by Gov. J.B. Pritzker.

“The right to vote is essential in our American democracy, and these measures will allow voters increased access to exercise that right and ensure the authenticity of each ballot,” Moylan said. “It is important that every voter’s voice is heard, and in light of the current COVID-19 crisis, voters will now be able to cast their ballots more easily in a safe and secure manner.”

The Moylan-supported Senate Bill 1863 expands the existing vote-by-mail system in Illinois, makes Election Day a state holiday and allows for election authorities to implement special hours and voting options including senior voting hours and curbside voting. The measure encourages residents to mail-in their votes by automatically sending vote-by-mail applications to voters who participated in either the 2018 general election, 2019 consolidated election or 2020 primary election.

The Moylan-supported House Bill 2238 would increase security at ballot collection sites to ensure the integrity of the election is maintained. Election authorities will appoint a panel of three judges to validate mail ballots and disqualify any invalid ballots. Collection sites will have heightened security measures in place.

“It would be unreasonable to force voters to decide between voting and protecting their health, especially those who have a heightened vulnerability to COVID-19,” Moylan said. “Vote-by-mail has existed for some time in Illinois, but this will expand that program and provide additional options for safe voting without risking the integrity of the election.”

To stay up to date with the state’s response to COVID-19, please visit For any questions concerning state issues, legislation or district matters, please contact Moylan’s full-time constituent office at 847-635-6821 or email

Rep. Marty MoylanRep. Marty Moylan

(D-Des Plaines)
55th District

Visit Rep Moylan’s website

Springfield Office:
292-S Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8007

District Office:
24 S. Des Plaines River Rd.
Ste. 400
Des Plaines, IL 60016
(847) 635-6821
(847) 635-8565 FAX