STREATOR, Ill. – To help local veterans access resources available to them, state Rep. Lance Yednock, D-Ottawa, is creating a local Veteran Advisory Committee. The LaSalle County Veterans Assistance Commission is partnering with Yednock on these events.

“Illinois veterans deserve help, as they fought for our freedoms here at home,” Yednock said. “There are existing policies that can help veterans obtain the assistance they need, but I want to make sure these servicemen and women know how to access their benefits.” 

Yednock is partnering with the LaSalle County Veterans Assistance Commission to update Illinois Valley veterans on the benefits that are available to them, as well as assist them with critical property tax exemptions and more. Yednock also wants to hear directly from local veterans in an effort to create new legislation to further benefit them. Yednock’s Veteran Advisory Council Meetings are as follows and each will start at 6 p.m.:

  • Wednesday, Sept. 18 at the Marseilles American Legion/VFW located at 571 Rutland St.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 20 at the Ottawa VFW located at 1501 La Salle St.
  • Wednesday, Jan. 22 at the LaSalle VFW located at 2325 Donahue St.

Yednock was also recently appointed to the Illinois Veterans Advisory Council, which is a bipartisan group of elected officials and veterans that meets quarterly to discuss the concerns of veterans across the state and to advise the Illinois Department of Veterans Affairs on significant issues.

“I want to thank Representative Yednock for hosting this event to not only honor our local service men and women, but to make sure each veteran knows their rights and the resources that are available to them,” said Steven Kreitzer, Superintendent of the LaSalle County Veterans Assistance Commission. “We will work with our veterans and their families to ensure they are receiving all the benefits they have earned through their service.”

Rep. Lance YednockRep. Lance Yednock

76th District

Springfield Office:
240A-W Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0140

District Office:
628 Columbus St.
Suite 204
Ottawa, IL 61350
(815) 324-5055