SPRINGFIELD, Ill. – In her efforts to bring more transparency to local governments, state Rep. Stephanie Kifowit, D-Aurora, passed legislation from the House so that the board of trustees of the Fox Metro Water Reclamation District (FMWRD) are elected positions instead of appointed positions.

“I believe it is important for the community to decide who can represent them on the board of trustees for the Fox Metro Water Reclamation District, and not for local elected officials to decide,” said Kifowit. “The Fox Metro Water Reclamation District is one of the largest Water Reclamation districts in the state and we need to hold those accountable who are responsible to make sure everyone in the area has access to clean, high quality water.”

Earlier this month, Kifowit introduced the initiative that would organize the FMWRD board of trustees in 5 geographical districts, according to demographics and population. The legislation would then change the terms of the board to be elected to four-year terms during the municipal elections. Currently, the trustees of the FMWRD board are appointed by local elected officials to three-year terms. The first election for the FMWRD trustees would be scheduled for the 2021 Municipal Elections.

The FMWRD owns and operates the Fox Metro Wastewater Treatment plant that serves about 300,000 people in Aurora, North Aurora, Boulder Hill, Montgomery, Oswego, Sugar Grove and parts of Yorkville and Batavia. The FMWRD also includes portions of Kane, Kendall, Will, and DuPage counties.

“When it comes to critical resources like providing clean drinking water to thousands of residents, we need to make sure those representing our interest can always be held accountable,” said Kifowit. “This legislation will bring transparency to our water reclamation board so we can avoid catastrophes like the incident that occurred in Flint, Michigan.”

Rep. Stephanie KifowitRep. Stephanie Kifowit

84th District

Visit Rep Kifowit’s website

Springfield Office:
255-S Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8028

District Office:
1677 Montgomery Rd.
Ste. 116
Aurora, IL  60504
(630) 585-1308
(630) 585-1357 FAX